Baked Eggs (Recipe)

2015/01/img_3230.jpg
I have finally written a recipe post!
I made a few New Years resolutions this year, mostly the standard ones – drink less, gym more, that kind of thing. But I also told myself I would do one recipe post every fortnight, so here goes…

I love breakfast and I love eggs. I’m always looking for new ways of cooking and eating them and the inspiration for these came from Instagram (which I am mildly obsessed with!) I saw that someone had done poached eggs with spinach and mushrooms so I thought I’d do a spin on that, and came up with these delicious baked eggs. To re-create this breakfast feast for 1-2 people you will need:

2 eggs (if there are two of you then I’d maybe use 3 or 4 eggs depending on the size of your dish)
About a third of a chorizo ring
2 handfuls of mushrooms
4 handfuls of spinach
Chilli flakes
Drizzle of olive oil
Salt and pepper
Optional (but highly recommended – goats cheese)

2015/01/img_3220.jpg
Firstly you need to heat up the oven to about 200 degrees. Then chop up the chorizo into small chunks. Whilst you’re chopping heat a frying pan with a little olive oil, then add the chorizo followed by the mushrooms (washed and sliced) and once the chorizo is looking cooked and the mushrooms are golden then add the spinach.

2015/01/img_3223.jpg
The spinach will start to wilt and you should be left with something looking like this. At this point you must try to restrain yourself and not just eat in straight out the pan!!

2015/01/img_3225.jpg
Then put it all into an oven-proof dish and make two wells for the eggs. Crack the eggs into the two spaces you’ve made, sprinkle with chilli flakes and a little salt and pepper.

2015/01/img_3228.jpg
Whack them in the oven, wait twenty minutes (this would be an excellent time to do the washing up so that your housemates don’t get annoyed with you!) and when you open the oven you should be greeted with something like this…

2015/01/img_3230-0.jpg
Then crumble on some goats cheese and tuck in!

2015/01/img_3231.jpg
All in all I was pretty pleased with this creation and the goats cheese adds a beautiful creaminess to it. If you give it a go then let me know your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

