Polo Bar 24 (Liverpool Street)

IMG_1955.JPG
I have Emerald Street to thank for this find.

In case you don’t know what Emerald Street is (and why the hell not?!) it’s a daily e-mail from the sister publication of the magazine Stylist. If pops into your inbox every day and informs you about a variety of things including fashion, events, restaurants, books and even careers. I’d definitely recommend signing up and you can do that here….. http://www.emeraldstreet.com

At the moment they are doing a special brunch club, where each weekend they partner with a cafe/restaurant and offer a brunch deal. It is a dream come true for someone like me. Sadly this is the only one I’ve made it to so far but some of the others look pretty great too.

I must have walked past Polo Bar nearly a hundred times but I had never noticed it before. It’s nestled between shops, cafés and offices and is a tall narrow building.

IMG_1936.JPG
The deal with Emerald Street was two mains from the brunch menu and two glasses of prosecco for £20 which is pretty good. However when we got there we decided to go rogue as neither of us really felt like drinking and my friend fancied a burger which, as you’d imagine, wasn’t on the breakfast menu.

IMG_1940.JPG
First up came the drinks – the thickest chocolate milkshake ever!

IMG_1941.JPG
After this I wasn’t sure if I even needed a meal but being the trooper I am I soldiered on! I am an absolute cheese fiend and I went for the Welsh rarebit. A mixture of 3 cheese on toast with bacon and avocado. Everything you need to make an excellent breakfast.

IMG_1943.JPG
The only criticism I would have is that it was all quite dry and could have done with a bit of butter on the bread. It did come with a rather nice chutney though.

IMG_1947.JPG

IMG_1948.JPG
My friend opted for the burger with cheese and bacon fries. The result was a tasty burger but unfortunately with all the fancy burger chains out there it had a lot to live up to and was a little bit bland.

IMG_1945.JPG

IMG_1946.JPG
The place is great though, set over 3 floors it has a diner type vibe but still has lots of yummy cakes on the ground floor which are freshly baked and looked pretty tasty.

IMG_1952.JPG

IMG_1951.JPG

IMG_1953.JPG
The best thing about Polo Bar? It’s open 24/7! It never closes. I reckon it makes the best alternative to a kebab after a night out and it’s pretty cheap – bacon sandwiches are about £3! Are total bill was £25 for two mains and two drinks which isn’t bad. Their website is here: http://polo24hourbar.co.uk

Thanks Emerald Street for introducing us to a late night gem!

Leave a Reply

